Weepy Wednesday



After studying the word cloud the answer rained down on me….music. I like music. Music of all kinds. I don’t know much about it, other than what I like. My iPod artists range from 2Pac and Snoop Dogg to Ray Price and George Strait with a hat tip to Ted Nugent and Deep Purple along the way.

This video combines three of my favorites. Two artists, Stoney Larue & Gary Stewart and a song “Empty Glass”. This tune is one of my all time fave Gary Stewart songs. It has that melancholy regretful hopelessness that makes country music great. Simple, haunting lyrics that make a barroom song something more artsy than your average boot scootin’ boogie song.

I got turned on to Stoney Larue listening to the local “hard country” format radio station when he released “Oklahoma Breakdown” and I’ve found a few more of his songs that I like. I was actually looking for “Texas Moon” to share tonight but found this instead.

It’s a great rendition of Gary Stewart’s original which I heard Gary perform live several years back. Stoney doesn’t do the guitar solo here, but Gary did and I discovered what an amazing guitar player/musician he actually was.

So on a rainy North Texas night grab a bottle of whiskey, a pack of smokes, and maybe a box of Kleenex for this one.

I’m out.

Leave a Reply

