La Quinta: Spanish for go f*ck yourself

I used to like La Quinta’s new advertising campaign. Who hasn’t heard the old joke?

Q: Know what La Quinta means in Spanish?

A: Next to Denny’s.

Well their new campaign leverages that joke and turns it into all sorts of marketing fun. It means high speed internet (unless you prefer wireless). It means a great stay (unless you are staying in the New Braunfels, TX La Quinta in which case it means that for $150 per night you should not expect maid service. You should not expect fresh towels. And you should most certainly not expect them to clean out the refrigerator when the person who stayed in your room 3 weeks ago leaves their Chili’s leftovers.

I’ll be having conversations with the general manager before we leave tomorrow but suffice it to say that I will not be recommending La Quinta to anyone any time soon…..like ever.

I paid less than a third of the price for twice the room and a whole lot more attentive staff at the Houston Hobby Marriott last week.

La Quinta means Loser in Spanish.

4 thoughts on “La Quinta: Spanish for go f*ck yourself

  1. Scot Duke August 11, 2007 / 8:54 am

    I thought LaQuinta was translated to saying Bend Over?

  2. Júan Josheph February 21, 2009 / 11:21 am

    Fuck you bastardish assholes! Your retard website should be destroyed because I am spanish and I am deeply fucking offended! I’ll press charges on your damned asses and you’ll burning in HELL! Fuckin’ racists!

  3. John Riley August 13, 2010 / 11:53 pm

    Juan Joseph, you need therapy and maybe medication. Calmese, vatito!

  4. Dustin June 9, 2011 / 5:35 pm

    Yeah. I’m currently on a business trip to Palestine, Texas. I don’t have any of the problems you’re having like a dirty room or whatever, but I am having problems.

    Walk in, and the room is hot. 100 degrees out and even though I had a reservation they did not turn the A/C on. The shades were wide open, of course, letting all that brutal sunshine in. Additionally the room smells funny.

    Now that the room is cooling off, the biggest problem for me is the wi-fi internet, which I called in advance and asked about specifically. They said it was fast. I get here and it’s as slow as dial up. Actually, probably slower. I cannot work like this.

Leave a Reply

