KZPS Format Change: The Fallout Continues

Continued fallout and listener feedback related to the format change over at KZPS, 92.5 this week. You’d think the folks at ClearChannel had told these folks their baby was ugly. I suspect some people are so anti-CC that they would bitch if hung with a new rope. Like these listeners commenting on Scott Sayres blog over at Fox4:

“Well, i think it’s a bunch of B.S.!!!!!!To me, ClearChannel is just like Txu or Exxon and the other’s!!!They are another big power that does what they want and to hell with the people!!!That was the only station that i was able to enjoy, since the mighty ClearChannel got rid of the Eagle!….” [Eagle references CC’s switch of 97.1 “The Eagle” to Noventa y siete punta Uno, Spanish language format, ed.]

Then there are those who think they should have had a vote:

“I want to know who has the power to do this? Doesn’t the local listener count for anything?” [Uh…..no, you don’t. It’s the people with money at risk that get to call the shots., ed]

In a similar vein:

“KZPS has been a mainstay in the DFW area for 20+ years. They had a “local” morning show that was second to none with two DJ’s that are celebrating 25 years in the business.” [Actually according to Arbitron they were second to about 19 other stations including 2 AM News Talk stations, 3 Spanish language stations, and a Sports Talk station, ed.]

And the misinformed:

“I’ve been listening to Bo and Jim since they were at 98 KZEW then on Q102, they are a legend…bring them back” [They’re coming back dude. Monday April 30th as advertised here and in every other news story on the subject including the blog you commented on. Also, when you find the link to where Bo Roberts EVER worked on air at KZEW email me, ed.]

And the downright nasty directed at me and right here in my own trailer house:

“You sir are the idiot… People who grew up on classic rock mostly do not like country… this format sux so bad i was nearly in tears when i heard it the other day! my morning commute revolved around the freakin’ fool file. I hate you corporate schmucks who think they know what people like. Go back to HD!” [Don’t hate, ed.]

And one I can agree with:

“Oh gee, one less radio station playing Boston, Aerosmith, Steve Miller, and too many other boring over-played dinosaurs. There’s always the Bone if you must hear “More Than a Feeling” for the billionth time.” [Well said, ed.]

Clear Channel has certainly created a firestorm of interest with national news coverage and widespread praise and outrage amongst listeners.

 Looks like the plan is working so far.

Heard on KZPS while compiling this post:

The Outlaws – There Goes Another Love Song
Bob Dylan – Rainy Day Women
Bob Dylan – Shelter From The Storm
Slobberbone – Shoot You Dead
The Eagles – Peaceful Easy Feeling
Stevie Ray Vaughn & Double Trouble – Change It
Micky & The Motorcars – Careless
ZZ Top – Tube Snake Boogie
Willie Nelson – Stay A Little Longer
Bruce Springsteen – Fade Away
John Mellencamp – Rain On The Scarecrow

16 thoughts on “KZPS Format Change: The Fallout Continues

  1. Danny April 29, 2007 / 11:16 pm

    If you never listened to it, how can you speak in such a negative tone about KZPS?

    I have said that Dallas radio sucks the last few years.

    Now it sucks for sure.

    I will steer away from CC, and their advertisers, at every possible oppurtunity.

    Go back to your “cry in your beer country”, or your whatever…

    Music is a matter of preference. And just like opinions……everyone has one.

    Was there not enough country channels in Dallas already?

  2. businessgolf May 2, 2007 / 7:48 pm

    I am not a CC fan either, but I am a Bo and Jim and Redbeard fan. I like DJ’s that know the History of Dallas and not the talk jocks that never venture out of Oaklawn….the format is unusual…the country is more progressive than the “Torn Blue Jean” stuff that is ruining country…as long as CC doesn’t slide in that hideous “Talk Format” I’ll listen to it… The Bone is getting stale.

  3. semitough May 2, 2007 / 7:54 pm

    Bo & Jim have definitely earned their spot. It’s not easy staying alive in one market as long as they have. So props to Bo & Jim for staying alive. More than can be said for many from that era.

    Excellent to have Redbeard back on the radio, he was probably the class of the Q102 crew. And of course my all time fave and KZEW alum, Jon Dillon. He may not be flashy but he epitomizes the album rock jock and is the most eloquent of the bunch in my opinion.

  4. semitough May 2, 2007 / 7:57 pm

    By the way.

    Danny.

    “Music is a matter of preference. And just like opinions……everyone has one.”

    Yeah. But not everyone has a blog and this one is mine so my opinion wins the day here.

    Now shoo!

  5. businessgolf May 2, 2007 / 8:32 pm

    SHORT-LONG Story: In 1969 I was in a bar in Medallion Center called Sneaky Petes..no relations to the club that is out in Lewisville. As I was waiting for Bugs Henderson and John Nitzinger to light up a hot Dallas summer night I was leaning up at the bar with 100 other dudes all checking out the chicks. This guy with hair to the middle of back slides in next to me and we got to talking, and over the entire night we bought each other beers and were really enjoying the evening yelling a chicks and stuff 18 years old illegally in a bar shouldn’t be doing. Well this guy told me his name was John but it wasn’t until two weeks later when the KZEW was having a simulcast on Channel 13 of the locale bands that I found out that the dude was Jon Dillin. Never saw him again, but listen to him for 40 years on the radio.
    Man am I getting old or what?

  6. semitough May 3, 2007 / 6:10 am

    Sneaky Pete’s. I haven’t thought about that place in years, but used to go there frequently myownself back in the day. There was a pizza place across the parking lot that served deep dish pizza in a square pan. First place in Dallas that I ever remember getting pizza that wasn’t thin & round (except Campisi’s which is a whole different thing). Guess we’re both getting old.

    Update: Little Italiano’s was the name of the pizza place. Just came to me. Not as quick as I used to be. 😉

  7. Doug Jaynes May 6, 2007 / 6:21 pm

    I think that you should give it a chance. The radio game is changing and we will just have to wait and see if this is best. I do miss the kzew,q102 and the eagle but what choice do we have anyway. If you want some radio listen the bear on line in waco. If you can go down that direction they have 101.7 eagle down there too.
    I must admit there are too many country stations but what can you do. I sure do not want anymore hip hop stations. Jack fm is sometimes good.

  8. Scott Evans May 7, 2007 / 1:06 pm

    I grew up with classic rock and my sons also enjoy it very much, especially since there was a station such as KZPS 92.5 that we could count on. My 12 year old was very bummed at the change, then my 19 yr. old was upset as well. We want our station format back and the outlaw country/rock fusion to go away!!

  9. Ray May 9, 2007 / 7:28 am

    I don’t mind the music they play now. What I miss is the fun they had, and the fun I had listening. And where did Jack Locker-room go to? Now when I want sports I have to go to 103.3.

  10. Jose Broderick May 11, 2007 / 3:10 pm

    I am like a lot of you old freakin fools. I grew up on the “House of the Rising Sun” and since have only listened to classic rock that gave me insight to my confused youth years. I am still confused because if you look around you the same shit (problems) exists and classic rock is like a breath of fresh air with a familiar regression to good times.

  11. Duke May 14, 2007 / 9:00 pm

    Semi,
    OK, now that Lone Star 95 has been out a week or so, has there been any update on the hype for the station’s No Commercial format? I keep hearing stuff like Jon Dillon wasn’t going to have anything to do with CC if they pumped the commercials every five minutes and that is why 92.5 went commercial free. Then I hvae heard that Willie is really behind some of the managing of the programing. I can get anything straight out here in the mainstream blogsphere here in Dallas. This No Commercial concept has been tried before and didn’t last…thought I see if you had hear anything new.

    As far as the Country format…yaw, some of the stuff is a little over the top and too much East Texas sticks music (my family is all from East Texas so I can talk bad about it), but some of the old Hank Jr and Waylan stuff gets my toe tapping.

    I still listen to it…as far as those people stuck on the need for a lot of talk morning commute radio…maybe they need to back off the Starbucks for a few miles. Bo and Jim are doing OK right now….but they can talk too much also.

    Keep it coming..

  12. semitough May 15, 2007 / 12:55 pm

    Howdy Duke! A little too early to tell. Arbitron ratings won’t be available for awhile yet. Listener reactions here and on other blogs fall into either the love it or hate it categories. I like the block sponsorship concept of advertising, but it remains to be seen if they can make a profit with it and we both know profit makes the world go ’round. None of those guys are in the radio business out of some sort of altruistic happy place just trying to please the listening public.

    East Texas, Sneaky Pete’s….do we know each other? 😉

  13. businessgolf May 16, 2007 / 4:32 pm

    Semi,
    If your were a lover of the #5 Keller Burgers, there is a possibility we may know each other.
    Duke

  14. semitough May 16, 2007 / 5:06 pm

    I’ve downed many burgers. Drank many cheap beers. And tipped many cheap car hops at Keller’s in my so-called-life & times. If we don’t know each other my bet is we’ve at least been in the same place at the same time. Small world.

  15. businessgolf May 16, 2007 / 7:24 pm

    That may have been you who was parked next to my 66 VW at Kellers.

    We may need to do a Remember Dallas When It Was Really Dallas blog together just to find out if we were ever in the same place at the same time.

    A very Small World.

Leave a Reply

