UPDATE: Close to the Heart

A little over a month ago I posted here regarding an accident that involved several local high school students, including my daughter, who was a rear seat passenger in one of the cars. As a result of the accident one died and another was seriously injured.

Thankfully my daughter was not hurt. The car she was riding in, according to multiple witnesses, was racing with the car that crashed and they got tangled up as one was cutting in front of the other.

We recieved confirmation this week that the driver of the car my daughter was riding in was charged with a Class B misdemeanor, Racing on a public highway.  In Texas a Class B misdemeanor is punishable by a fine up to $2,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail. In addition, since racing was involved, it is possible if found guilty that he could be subject to a one year suspension of his license and up to 10 hours of community service.

According to my research, the authorities also had the option to charge a Second or Third Degree felony because an individual suffered serious bodily injury or death as a result of the offense. Apparently the police and district attorney did not pursue these more serious charges even though a young man did lose his life as a result of this offense.

I’m not one of these “string ’em up it’ll teach ’em a lesson” guys and I don’t necessarily believe that everybody deserves jail time for an offense. But seriously, a class B misdemeanor charge? My guess is no jail, no suspension. A hefty fine to cover the city and county’s costs and maybe a little community service thrown in for window dressing and it’s over.

All I can say is I hope this is enough for this young man to learn a serious lesson from. I hope the next time he feels the urge to “get it on” with another car he’ll remember his fine and community service and that will stop him in his tracks. I hope his parents have learned a lesson and perhaps sold his black Mustang Cobra and he is driving something more appropriate for his skills like a Ford Focus. I hope his insurance company either has or will very soon adjust his premiums to reflect his supreme lack of driving judgement. I hope all those involved, both directly and indirectly have learned a lesson on the fragility of life.

And above all I hope for comfort and healing for the family and friends of Mark Tu.

Leave a Reply

