Thursday Thirteen #1

Thursday Thirteen
Alright then, I guess I’m going to give this Thursday thing a shot. It’s my first time so be gentle. I may not be entirely clear on the concept but I’ll get it sooner or later.Thirteen Things Semitough believes:

  1. I believe if you are going to curse, crap is the best curseword to use. It’s not universally offensive. And it doesn’t result in immediate health risk if the kids use it in front of your mother-in-law.
  2. I believe that blue is the finest color in the big Crayola box. Other colors
    are crap next to blue. Green is good, but blue is best.
  3. I believe next to flying cars like on the Jetsons, the pickup is the finest vehicle ever conceived.
  4. I believe the internet is a lot like most towns….a good place to meet and
    interact with people and if you’re lucky only half of them are looking to rob or kill you.
  5. I believe Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone.
  6. I believe Elvis is dead. Has been dead. And anyone claiming to have seen him is a nutjob who is just as likely to believe he or she has been abducted by aliens or was King of England in a former life.
  7. I believe cats are smarter than dogs which is why dogs are better pets. Nobody wants a pet smarter than they are which is why pigs never caught on as household pets.
  8. I believe that there has never been a girl as beautiful as my daughter or a woman as fine as my wife.
  9. I believe spellchecker is a poor excuse for learning to spell correctly and taking the time to check your work the old fashioned way. That said, don’t be combing my blog looking for spelling errors, I’m sure they’re there.
  10. I believe that Satellite Radio is the FM of the future and if XM doesn’t mess it up by adding too many commercial stations they will own this market within a decade and terrestrial radio will be a more vast wasteland than it already is. (Note: By my definition one commercial station is too many so XM has already exceeded that limit, but I’m willing to give a little bit as long as they don’t mess with the stations I listen to.)
  11. I believe that my chances of winning the lottery are better than my chances of getting struck by lightning, but I’m still not going to go running around in a thunderstorm or buying lottery tickets.
  12. I believe that the big screen TV ranks right up there with the Margarita Machine on the list of greatest inventions of all time.
  13. I believe this season will be the best ever for the Fighting Texas Aggie football team. I say that now because I know I can come back and edit this post later to avoid having to eat crow.

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

13 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #1

  1. Jenny in Ca August 17, 2006 / 12:01 pm

    Nice Thursday thirteen subject. This was also my first TT. This is also the first time I have visited a man’s blog. I am super new to blogging, and I tend to hang out in homeschool mom blog circles. TT is a neat way to expand who you know blog-wise. I agree with your cat analysis-they are smarter than dogs. True about the lottery tickets! sorry but I like almost all the colors in the crayola box- the big box makes me happy.
    have a good rest of the week,
    Jenny in Ca

  2. Mrs Lifecruiser August 17, 2006 / 12:21 pm

    I only say this:

    I believe you’re a good humorous writer, who has right in most of the things in this excellent list and who’m I want to come back and visit again πŸ™‚

    Especially to check out if you’ve erased that last or if we’re gonna see you eat that crow πŸ˜‰

    Oh, and warmth welcome to the T13 blogosphere!

  3. Lisa August 17, 2006 / 12:24 pm

    Hooray on you 1st Thursday Thirteen! Looks great! #4 made me laugh til coke came out of my nose so you’re doing a good job. And I miss my XM. Oh how I miss my XM…

    My 13 is up, hope you’ll come visit!

  4. Caledonia August 17, 2006 / 12:26 pm

    LOL! I loved #8 – you’re a big softie.

  5. Something's Missing August 17, 2006 / 12:55 pm

    I love, love, love the flying cars on the Jetsons!!!

    And please, add the cappucino maker to your list of Best Inventions.

    This is an awesome list!

    My Thursday Thirteen is up!

    Happy Thursday!

  6. meredith August 17, 2006 / 1:08 pm

    Welcome to the world of the TT!

    Great list!

    Happy TT!

  7. newscindy August 17, 2006 / 1:17 pm

    Good to see a guy participating in TT…welcome! Great job.

  8. my 2 cents August 17, 2006 / 1:40 pm

    Great list! I agree, crap is a nice curse word! And I agree with #2 on your list, that blue is probably the best color in the crayon box… with green a close second. But for me, pink is also a close second.

    Have a great Thursday!

  9. semitough August 17, 2006 / 3:06 pm

    Thanks everyone for the warm welcome and great comments. Wow! More comments on one post than in my whole 1.5 week career blogging!

    Just to clarify, I don’t really believe all other colors besides blue and green are crap. I just had to find a way to fit the word crap into # 2. I love all colors. I’m a regular freakin’ Rainbow Coalition. πŸ™‚

    Thanks again everyone!!!

  10. baggage August 17, 2006 / 4:09 pm

    Added you to my blogroll. I prefer f*** but crap is a good curse word too.

  11. terrilynn August 17, 2006 / 4:27 pm

    I believe you’re a pretty smart guy, and I further believe I’ll be back to visit again.

    My TT is here.

  12. phoenix August 17, 2006 / 6:44 pm

    LMAO dude! Welcome to the TT world!! Glad you decided to join us!

    Haven’t listened to XM radio yet. I am soooooo far behind in the tech world it is pathetic! Guess I will have some catching up to do eh?

  13. Jenny Ryan August 18, 2006 / 11:25 am

    You make a good point about “crap”-it is a pretty useful word!

Leave a Reply

